Get on the path to results today.
Theft or Robbery
Illegal Search & Seizure
Probation Violation Hearings
In South Carolina the penalties for a first time DUI conviction are different depending on the driver's BAC level.
For a first offense involving a BAC of less than .10%, a driver faces 48 hours to 30 days in jail, $400 in fines, and a six-month license suspension.
For a first offense involving a BAC of .10% to .16%, a driver faces seven to 30 days in jail, $500 in fines, and a six-month license suspension.
For a first offense involving a BAC of at least .16%, a driver faces 30 to 90 days in jail, $1,000 in fines, and a six-month license suspension.
Community Service Option for First Offenders
First-time offenders may be eligible to do community service instead of serving jail time. The amount of community service will be equal to the amount of jail time that would have been required.
The real costs come later in the form of collateral consequences. These could include increased insurance, suspended driving privileges, and even complications with employment.
Misdemeanor crimes can result in a criminal record and potential loss of rights. Not only is your job at risk but you face jail time, steep fines and the loss of your driving privileges or housing. Whether you are facing a DUI, or an accusation by a spouse or employer, you need help. Good people can sometimes find themselves in unexpected situations. Don’t talk to law enforcement. Don’t get legal advice from your friends or your relatives. Talk with an attorney.
They can have a long-term impact on your driving record and can lead to costly fines and even license suspension.
Regardless of your traffic charge, you should review your case with an experienced attorney to avoid unnecessary negative consequences like:
You have a right to face your accuser and to present evidence in your defense. As your Advocate, my job is to facilitate and support you in your defense. Maintain your ability to move freely and preserve your driving record.
South Carolina law doesn’t expressly prohibit open containers of alcohol on boats within the state. This means that, Presumably, the occupants of a boat can enjoy a beer as they enjoy cruising on a lake or river.
Although, just because a person might be able to have an open container of alcohol on a boat doesn’t mean that laws don’t apply regarding impairment. Much like the laws that apply to drivers on land, boat operators face a legal blood-alcohol content limit of 0.08 percent.